468784_3466150017564_161229085_oFrom Thich Nhat Hanh’s Transformation and Healing: Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness: “The essence of love and compassion is understanding, the ability to recognize the suffering of others. We have to be in touch with the physical, material, and psychological suffering of others. To do so, we have to put ourselves “inside the skin” of the other. We must “go inside” their body, feelings, and mental formations and experience their suffering. A shallow observation as an outsider won’t help us see their suffering.”



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s