Spiritual Reshaping

1a4a42233b980e38c098989001caf3c7

From Paul (Galatians 2:19-20):I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

From Michael Gorman’s Inhabiting the Cruciform God: “[W]e must stress that it is the resurrected crucified Christ with whom believers are initially and continually crucified…[A]s an experience of the risen or resurrected Christ, co-crucifixion is not merely a metaphor but an apt description of an encounter with a living person whose presence transforms and animates believers: “It is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me. And the life I live, I live by the faithfulness of the Son of God, who loved me by giving himself for me.” As Douglas Campbell says, “this is no mere imitatio Christi!” for “God is not asking [believers] … to imitate Christ -perhaps an impossible task -so much as to inhabit or to indwell him,” such that “the Spirit of God is actively reshaping the Christian into the likeness of Christ.”

Roger

Leave a Reply

