The Creation

Unknown-1

From Julian of Norwich’s A Revelation of Divine Love (Rendered in Modern English by Walter Melnyk): “During this time our Lord showed me a spiritual sight of His simple, homely loving. I saw that He is to us everything that is good and comforting to us. He is our clothing, which wraps and embraces us in love. He completely enfolds us in tender love so that He might never leave us, being to us everything that is good, as I see it. In this He showed me a little thing, the size of a hazelnut in the palm of my hand, and it was as round as a ball. I looked upon it with the eye of my understanding and I thought, “What can this be?” And it was generally answered thus: “It is all creation.” I marveled at how it might continue to exist, for I thought it might suddenly fall into nothingness because it was so small. And again I was answered in my understanding, “It lasts, and ever shall, because God loves it, for all things have their being by the love of God.” In this little thing I saw three properties: the first is that God made it, the second is that God loves it, and the third is that God keeps it. How I am to understand this maker, keeper, and lover I am not sure. But until I am made one with God in my very essence, I will never have complete rest or true peace; that is to say, until I am so fastened to Him that there is absolutely no created thing between my God and me. We must understand the littleness of creatures, and to count as nothing all of creation, in order to love and to have God, who is not a creature. This is the reason why we are not fully at ease in heart and soul: for we seek rest in these little things, wherein there is no rest, and do not know our God, who is almighty, all wise, and all good. He is the true rest. God wills to be known. He wants us to rest in Him. For all that is beneath Him is insufficient for us. This is the reason why no soul finds rest until it counts as nothing all that is made. When the soul has willfully renounced everything for love, to have Him who is all, then he is able to have spiritual rest.”

Roger

Leave a Reply

