The Faithfulness of Christ

gecomprimeerd Anneke Kaai Death(1)

From Richard Hays’ The Faith of Christ: “In a mysterious way, Jesus has enacted our destiny, and those who are in Christ are shaped by the pattern of his self-giving death. He is the prototype of redeemed humanity. Thus for Paul, “the faithfulness of Jesus Christ” has an incorporative character. That is why Paul says, “I have been crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now life in the flesh I live by the faithfulness of the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Gal. 2: 19-20). Jesus is not merely a good moral example; rather, his story transforms and absorbs the world. The old world has been crucified and new creation has broken in through Jesus’s death and resurrection (Gal. 6: 14-15).”

Roger

Leave a Reply

