Nonviolence

images

From Michael Crosby’s The Fruit of the Spirit: Pauline Mysticism for the Church Today: “In my own life, I have found that any transformation of my life and relationships has involved an ongoing process and that, at least for me, much of this “change of heart” has been linked to the need to move from a way of power defined by control (and its abuse and violence) to care (and its nonviolence and gentleness). Thus, after a long time, when I thought I might be ready, I took Pax Christi’s “Vow of Nonviolence.” This was only after I had done the necessary work of trying to free myself from anything conscious that would be construed as violence because taking the “Vow of Nonviolence” implies a serious commitment to overcoming its obstacles… One of the six commitments involved in the “vow” involves a refusal “to retaliate in the face of provocation and violence” as a way of modeling one’s life on that of Jesus, especially as he taught his way of discipleship in the Sermon on the Mount.”

Roger

 

Leave a Reply

