Holy Monday

jesus-washing-feet-of-disciplesFrom Brian Bantum’s The Death of Race: Building a New Christianity in a Racial World: “Jesus did not meet me in a dream or in a book or in a thought dropped from space. God encountered me in hugs and embraces and grief and mourning and laughter. God met me in potlucks and people who called me by my name. And in these people I met a God who became like me, who desired me so deeply that the difference between finitude and infinity was not so wide that this God could not traverse it to be with me, to be like me so that I could be a bit more like God, to be with God. In those teenage years I came to understand myself as Christian and black, two claims that I am still living into, still trying to discern what faithfulness looks like.”

Roger

Leave a Reply

