Vocation

Unknown copy 28

From Patrick Reyes’ Nobody Cries When We Die: God, Community, and Surviving to Adulthood: “People who have found their vocation place their values in deep harmony with their behavior. Think of how often we enter into our own vocational discernment process by asking, “What do I want to do?” rather than asking ourselves first, “How am I using this living, breathing body?” or “How does the way that I am living reflect a certain call to live and breathe?” When I work with young people, they typically think they’re supposed to ask themselves, “What do I want to do?” rather than, “What am I doing with my life? Do my actions reflect my values, and are those values about life? How do I structure my day to reflect my own thriving? My own call to life?”

Roger

Leave a Reply

